Oil Cleansing Method

SAY WHAT?

People always want to know what products I use on my face. They’re eager to learn how I keep my skin clear and often comment that I look much younger than I am – OUCH! Thanks for the reminders, friends! Luckily, I am growing increasingly comfortable with aging and although most of my youthful glow can be contributed to genetics, a healthy lifestyle (including NOT smoking) helps greatly! My skin care secret is that I wash my face with oil.

Yes, you read that right.
I, too, was a disbeliever until I tried it out last fall after a summer spent in the surf, which dries out your face GREATLY and brought out age spots making me look like I was a leopard! I use spf 60 on my face, and even used a wetsuit most of the time, but alas, I’m afraid the damage was done in my youth. Recently, I went to a spa and the esthetician (with flawless, gorgeous skin!) was so excited with my skin care regime that I felt instantly affirmed.
She gave me some insider info, too! More on that after I play the role of your guinea pig.

Oil Cleansing Method

Oil Cleansing Method – Going 8 months strong! I’m currently using a lovely blend of 40% Castor Oil:60% Cold Pressed Organic Olive Oil, and 8 drops of the highest quality lavender essential oil I have found direct from the producer. My two favorites, so far, are Native American Nutritionals and Original Swiss Aromatics, but I’ve also tried and greatly enjoyed distributors like Young Living and doTERRA.

Why do I recommend this method? It cleanses my face without leaving it feeling dry, moisturizes and pampers my skin and it has even lightened some of those less desirable signs of aging. The best part is that it is entirely natural and free from chemicals!

*For my next batch I will most likely use rose.
(More on those adventures soon!)

My early morning routine consists of:

1. Splashing face and neck with warm water to steam the pores – NOT too hot!
2. Massaging about 2-3 pumps (shake your oils before using each time!) into my face and neck, really enjoying the massage as much as the washing. I mean, REALLY enjoy this part of the process. We don’t spend a whole lot of time soothing our face and we use it A LOT, from expressing emotions to talking and eating. Love your face.
3. Step into the shower and proceed as usual with rinsing my face last so that the steam from my shower helps to allow the goodness to work its way into my pores… I let the hot water run over my face, and use my hands to massage the oils off of my face. I do not use anything harsh on my face in the morning, and if I need to use a washcloth I make sure it is the softest one I’ve got!
4. Proceed to moisturize with my favorite oil (coconut) and a drop of lavender. I’m getting brave enough to try other oils soon!

So there you have it! Sounds gross, and hard to believe, but it’s absolutely my favorite new beauty regimen and I swear by it! BUT you don’t have to take my word for it… Read more HERE!

Shiny Happy Person

Shiny Happy Person

2 thoughts on “Oil Cleansing Method

  1. Ok, I read this and I have always loved and admired Danielle’s skin. So, I thought I would try it. I went and got organic olive oil, castor oil and I choose rose oil. I started that night and after 1 use I could see the increased moisture and a glow in my skin. I have continued for a month using this oil cleaning method before I go to bed and in the morning. I have had zero breakouts and 4 comments on how young I look. I am 44 and all I have experienced in my 40’s is gravity, lines and wrinkles. When I look in the mirror after I wash my face, I actually like my reflection. I am so happy with my new oil cleanser and will continue and hopefully reverse gravity and decrease these lines! Thanks, Danielle!!! You continue to inspire me.

    • I’m so happy that you are seeing the benefits, too! *Personally, my favorite part of every day is using it as a makeup remover and massaging my face. I must have ALOT of facial expressions because the muscles on my face are sore every single day! 🙂 What shall we explore next, Catherine?

Leave a Reply

